DPP thanks U.S. House of Representatives for passage of H.R. 3470

Taiwan’s Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) expressed its thanks to the U.S. House of Representatives following the passage of H. R. 3470, "To affirm the importance of the Taiwan Relations Act, to provide for the transfer of naval vessels to certain foreign countries, and for other purposes."

In a letter to Rep. Ed Royce (R-CA), Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee thanking Royce for his leadership in the passage of this bill, DPP Chair Su Tseng-chang said:

Since 1979, the Taiwan Relations Act (TRA) has stood as a model of Congressional leadership in U.S. foreign policy. The 35th anniversary of its passage offers an occasion for us to reflect on the breadth and depth of a bilateral relationship that has flourished under the TRA’s framework, and how this relationship has facilitated Taiwan’s evolution from authoritarianism to a full-fledged, multi-party democracy.

The events of recent days bear testament to the vibrancy of Taiwan’s civil society, a vibrancy which would have been unimaginable in 1979. The U.S. commitment to Taiwan’s security embodied in the TRA, as well as steadfast advocacy for human rights by the United States Congress in the years subsequent to its enactment, were both indispensable beacons of hope to the people of Taiwan. The strong bipartisan support for the resolution on display on the House floor today sends an unmistakable signal of the enduring nature of the friendship between the U.S. and the people of Taiwan, from which we continue to draw tremendous strength as we face the challenges before us.

I also wish to thank you and your colleagues for the provision to transfer the naval vessels to Taiwan. Taiwan's defense has been a top priority of the DPP since its founding and we deeply appreciate Congress' continued commitment to providing Taiwan with the defensive weapons and services we so deeply need.

Chairman Royce led a congressional delegation to Taiwan in February, 2014, during which he met with Chair Su and several other DPP officials.