DPP announces presidential primary candidates' televised presentations

The DPP finished the registration process of candidates for the presidential primary last week. The candidates that registered for the primary are (in the order they registered): 1) Su Tseng-chang, former DPP chair and premier; 2) Tsai Ing-wen, DPP Chair and Former Mainland Affairs Council minister and Vice Premier; and 3) Hsu Hsing-liang, former DPP chair.

On March 26, a coordinating meeting was held at the DPP to decide the procedure for televised presentations among the registered candidates. All three candidates agreed that presentations must be held publicly in order for society to understand each candidate's point of view.

During the meeting, it was decided that a total of four televised presentations will be held. The first one will be held on Saturday, April 9 from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m.; the second one on Wednesday, April 13 from 8:00 to 10:00 p.m.; the third one on Saturday, April 16 from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m.; and the last one on Wednesday, April 20 from 8:00 to 10:00 p.m. All the four presentations will be televised and broadcast by four different television stations.

The televised presentations will each take approximately 120 minutes. The format will be divided into three parts: opening statement, Q&A and a concluding statement.